My Dream Jobs

Once I decided that planning events was what I wanted to do after college I started to become more aware of everything going on around me and how so many of those things were planned events. I couldn’t go anywhere or do anything without being emerged into an event that someone had taken the time to plan. So I started to think, if I could get any event planning job in the world what would it be? So I took some time and did more research into different industries and this is what I came up with.

Sports

I would love to have a special events coordinator position within the professional sports industry. Being able to combine two of my passions, sports and event planning, would be so euphoric. I previously worked for the Reno Aces the Triple A affiliates of the Arizona Diamondbacks helping coordinate game day activities. With this brief emersion into the sports industry I fell in love with it. However, I would like to be involved with the special events sector of this industry by helping coordinate player appearances and assist in training camp events. Also, I would love to manage game day schedules and responsibilities for all  performing groups and alumni players. The two main sports I would love this type of position in would be the NFL or MLB just because those were the sports I fell in love with while I was growing up. However, any type of position within any sporting industry would be amazing!

 

09000d5d821d7736(Photo Credit)

649_specialevents5

(Photo Credit)

Music Festivals

Music festivals have been growing in popularity over the recent years. I don’t have any experience in this field however I think it would be such a thrill to help plan one. Some of the top festivals I would love to work with would be: Burning Man, Electric Daisy Carnival [EDC] and TomorrowWorld. These three festivals are coordinated on such a grand scale that helping with the coordination of any of the events would be life changing. It is amazing to think how every year these festivals are planned and executed with such precision and expertise.

EDC-Las-Vegas-2012

(Photo Credit)

The-Man-Explodes-Burning-Man-2013-128

(Photo Credit)

tomorrowworld1

(Photo Credit)

Event Production Company

Even though being in the aforementioned industries would be amazing so would being a part of an event production company. The appeal of this type of job would be that the company would be planning many different types of event for a wide array of clients. I feel that there is more opportunity to create amazing conceptual themes for events in this industry. Also, each event would be new and exciting.

I can’t wait until I am able to fully commit my skills to the event planning industry after I graduate in December of 2014. If you have planned events in these industries tell me what you enjoy the most about it.

Leave a Reply

